November 14 Dirty Hands reading

Join us at the Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts

Friday, November 14 at 7:30 pm

for a very special evening of poetry, art, writing, and lively discussion

featuring readings by

Jim Moore and Patricia Weaver Francisco

FB_photos

Jim Moore is the author of seven books of poetry, including Invisible Strings and Lightning at Dinner. His poetry has appeared in the New Yorker, the Nation, and the Paris Review. His latest book, Underground: New and Selected Poems, gathers the best of his previous work as well as twenty new poems that showcase a poet whose work should appeal to fans of Mary Oliver and Billy Collins. In poems that are frank and accessible, Moore is a generous and keen observer of the world and people around him. As the New York Times put it: “Jim Moore’s poems are an artful amalgam of humor and fierce attention, suffused by a passion for ancient Asian poetry.” He is married to renowned photographer JoAnn Verburg, and lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota and Spoleto, Italy.

Patricia Weaver Francisco is the author of Telling: A Memoir of Rape and Recovery (HarperCollins), which won the Minnesota Book Award and was described as “required reading” by The American Psychological Association Review of Books. She is also the author of Cold Feet, a novel (Simon & Schuster), Village Without Mirrors, a collection of lyric essays (Milkweed Editions), and the plays Sign of a Child and Lunacy (The Dramatic Publishing Company). Her work has received support from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Bush Foundation, The McKnight Foundation, the Loft Literary Center, The Playwright’s Center, and the Minnesota State Arts Board.  She teaches in the MFA and BFA programs in creative writing at Hamline University and serves as the creative nonfiction editor of Water~Stone Review.